15 Memorable Movies, and Why.

Hey. Tirzah here.

This started with a Facebook challenge to list, in no particular order, in 15 minutes or less, (Eep!) 15 films that have stuck with me.

The list finished well within the time limit, I went back and expanded with the reasons they stuck with me. Half an hour later, I thought, “Heck, in for a penny, in for a pound,” added a bit more, threw in some colorful pictures, and made a post of it.

I call these movies memorable, because the one thing they have in common is that I remembered them. Most are brilliant, a couple are just okay, while the last one… kinda… defies all adjectives except “memorable.”

1. The Incredibles
Why? It was THE perfect animated family superhero movie. I watched it 8 times in a row, wrote out the script from memory, watched the behind-the-scenes and the commentated versions, and found only one cinematic flaw.

(I thought they should have cut to Violet’s reaction after Helen [Elastagirl/Mrs.Parr/Mom] praised dash for his work as a speedboat propeller. Turns out they meant to, but that page of the storyboard fell through the cracks.)

And maybe it’s just me, but I’d say Mr. Incredible pretty cute.

“THAT WAS THE BEST VACATION EVER!”

2. The Game
Why? Threw me for loop after loop. After loop. Aaand oh look it’s a loop. It was Inception before Inception was cool, (or, you know, created at all,) except with… a… game. Thing. Sort of.

It’s one of those you really can’t explain well without spoiling something, so I’ll shut up now.

“Discovering the object of the game IS the object of the game.”

3. Pooh’s Grand Adventure: The Search for Christopher Robin
Why? Because Winnie the Pooh rocks way harder at pretty damned dark and horror-y than you might think…

This was truly a story of people on a heroic quest, facing real fears and dangers. So maybe they were stuffed animals. So maybe it was all a big misunderstanding. So what? You wanna make something of it?

“You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

4. The Lord of the Rings
Why? …I refuse to explain myself. You have seen and comprehend the epic fantasy wonder of fear and hope that is this trilogy, or you haven’t and don’t.

“A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day!”


5. The Avengers
Why? Because it was the snarky, wittily-scripted, action-tastic superhero movie to beat all snarky, wittily-scripted action-tastic superhero movies, pick them up in one hand and smash them into their own self-made craters.

“I have an army.” “We have a Hulk.”


6. The Fourth Wise Man
Why? The sweetness and selflessness of the central character appears to sabotage his goal at every hand. I watched him lose everything he had, and gain so much more than he set out for.

Would I call it an excellent movie? Perhaps not. But the good of it has nestled securely into my heart.

“Forgive me. Once I had precious gifts to give you… Now I have none.”


7. Avatar (Not the Last Airbender)
Why? Because beautiful blue people in a glowing forest. It was a breathtaking visual wonder on the big screen, creating the illusion that the fairly generic plot was deep. It was a really lovely illusion, and I didn’t mind being suckered by it.

“It is decided. My daughter will teach you our ways. Learn well, Jakesully, and we will see if your insanity can be cured.”


8. The Princess Bride
Why? Are you kidding? Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles…

It’s that one classic-hilarious-touching-and-endlessly-quotable fairy tale. And is it just me, or is the Dread Pirate Roberts really cute in a mask?

Oh, here, just have the whole swordfight:


9. Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog
Why? Come on. With Neil Patrick Harris as a bumbling, romantically and professionally frustrated villain, Nathan Fillion as an arrogant bastich of a hero, and loads of gorgeous, funny, pain-riddled song numbers? What’s not to love?

It is the pinnacle of all awkwardly hilarious musical supervillain/girl next door romances.

“The world is a mess and I just need to… rule it!”


10. Of Gods and Men
Why? It’s a quiet, intense, beautiful example of real, flawed, very human people stumbling towards displaying the likeness of Christ; moving from fear into a love unspeakable and full of glory; a joy of which the half has not been told; a peace that passes all possible understanding.

It’s an expertly done foreign film, though it perhaps moves perhaps too slowly for many viewers. But once the pace is embraced, it evokes deep emotion–despite the lack of a musical score–so that’s skill and content for you.

“And to you too, friend of the last minute, who knew not what you were doing… May we meet again, happy thieves in Paradise.”


11. Bambi
Why? This was my childhood Disney classic. We didn’t own many movies when I was growing up. Of all the Disney options, there was this and The Little Mermaid, and Ariel annoyed me.

So this was the one that got the ever-living heck loved out of it by me as a toddler and post-toddler. And preteen. And, um, teenager… and post-teenager…

Oh, and it also brought me my first cognition of death. Thanks, Disney!

“You can call me Flower if you want to. I don’t mind.”


12. Rudy
Why? Because sometimes I just love a good ol’ fashioned “eternal persistence, endless practice, bottomless heart,” sports movie. Even better when it’s based on a true story! ^_^

(Yes, actually, I do find myself inspired by motivational posters and self-help books. Why do you ask?)

“You’re 5 foot nothin’, 100 and nothin’, and you have barely a speck of athletic ability.”


13. Life is Beautiful
Why? 
Because a father’s efforts to turn a concentration camp into an amusing game in the eyes of his young son (yes, you read that right,) brought shocking comedy and heartrending tragedy together so seamlessly. The atrocity was never lurid, nor the humor gaudy.

What started out feeling like a lighthearted rom-com suddenly plunged into the stark horrors of the holocaust–then grinned ferociously in the face of darkness, and told it that, come what will, life is beautiful.

“You’ve never ridden on a train, have you? They’re fantastic! Everybody stands up, close together, and there are no seats!”


14. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
Why? It’s a depiction of Arthurian legend in which horses are replaced by men clacking coconuts together in such a way as to sound like galloping while the riders hold imaginary reins, a severed arm is considered only a flesh wound, and a quest to find a shrubbery (a nice one with a little fence around it) is considered a valid subplot.

How would that slip my mind?

PS: What is the air speed of an unladen swallow, anyway?


15. John Dies at the End
Why? … I don’t even… it’s… I can’t… it’s just a movie that sticks with you, okay? I’m not saying that’s a good thing. I’m not sure that it’s a bad thing. I’m just saying it’s a film that cannot be unseen.

There was something called soy sauce that was a drug, or alive, or maybe it was both. Anyway, either way, it was probably evil. But maybe it was good. I’m not sure. Monsters were everywhere. Maybe. I’m not sure. But even if there were, the monsters were the least of it. I might wish I hadn’t seen it. I might be glad I have. I’m not sure.

The two looks on my face through this whole movie. Oh, if you want an actual quote from that thing: “My name is David Wong. I once saw a man’s kidney grow tentacles, tear itself out of a ragged hole in his back, and go slapping across my kitchen floor. But that’s another story.”

Comment with your own thoughts on these movies, movies you remember, movies you don’t remember, unrelated political rants, or that anecdote about your grandmother on the park swings that one time.

Basically just comment. Please. I really like comments. >_>

2 comments

  1. 1. “The Incredibles” was/is the stuff! And I’m probably gonna end up being Syndrome when I grow up. (“You always say to be true to yourself, but you never way which self to be true TO! Well, I’ve made my choice, aaand you’ve wrecked it, so new plan: I’mma go supervillain on all your behinds.”)

    3. Glad to see I’m not the only one upon whom “Pooh’s Grand Adventure” made a sizable impression. X)

    4. “This day we FIGHT! By all that you hold dear on this good earth, I bid you stand — MEN OF THE WEST!”

    5. *starts belting theme song*

    9. This may go down in the history as the one movie you made me watch and I like it as much as I feel I’m supposed to. Time shall tell, ;D

    1. 1, YEAH Incredibles! GO! FIGHT! WIN! (And call me when you get back, darling, I enjoy our visits.)
      3, I laughed and laughed to see this independently listed among your fifteen. X)
      4, THEN THE TINY TINY HOBBITS GO CHARGING OUT FOR FRODO.
      5, It was just so burdened with glorious purpose, right?
      9, I’m REALLY pleased Doctor Horrible found a place in your dark and villainous heart.

Leave a Reply

