Flashes of Fiction: Grapes underfoot

Hey. Tirzah here.

My character has started a new weekly challenge for me. This task is to write a flash fiction piece of no more nor fewer than 100 words (commonly known as a drabble,) based on whatever prompt I find, every Tuesday.
Consider yourselves encouraged to write a drabble of your own, based on the prompt or otherwise inspired by the vignette below. 

Today’s Prompt:

Vinegar

*****

They’ve said they’ll crush our rebellion like grapes underfoot.
I have no doubt of it, but one question that keeps me wakeful in my bed:

What will be made of my blood?

A grape on the vine may not care if it becomes vinegar or wine, but I am no such peaceful fruit.
I would be enduring bitterness on the tongues of my enemies.
I would be fire in the belly of future rebels.

So I suppose we are not so different, this fruit and I; we worry not that we will be crushed, but whether our seed will take.

Leave a Reply

