100-word wonders: Drabble

Hey. Syawn here.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Why “drabble”? Because even though they’re sometimes very nearly what we make every Tuesday (that my author can remember to blog) around here, we’ve never really addressed them, or specified what on earth that strange little word means.

And so here I shall define it for you, in no more nor fewer than 100 words.

*****

Quoth wikipedia, “A drabble is an extremely short work of fiction of exactly one hundred words in length… The purpose of the drabble is brevity, testing the author’s ability to express interesting and meaningful ideas in an extremely confined space.”

While we often soliloquize in this space (in 100 words precisely,) it is rarely a fiction.They may be the thoughts and ideas of a fictional person, like myself, but does that truly count?

Now that her habit is halfway established, I think it’s time for my challenge to narrow its terms…

Author mine… time for some tightly told tales.

 *****

#Meta

2 comments

  1. Ooh, the plot thickens… Or it will, now that Sy’s demanding a plot. X) Drabbles do make for a good writing challenge; fairly quick, but oh, the trick of making each word cont. Have fun with it, Tirzah!

Leave a Reply

