100 word wonder: Relentless

Hey. Syawn here.

We've decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I'm the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who's talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might  otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day. Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another. Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so. Why “Relentless”? Because I am. Now brace yourself for three relentless wonderings, no more nor less than 100 words each.

*****

There’s something you should know about me.

 I’m… kind of an anti-hero. A bit of an antagonist. If you hadn’t picked up on that already.

 As my author reveals in Ever the Actor, I have a number of traits most people would not consider ideal, might even think, hmmn, terrible. Like a total lack of empathy, the resultant self-centeredness and capacity to wantonly kill, harm, and manipulate.

 Debatable mores aside, I had (and have) some traits she unabashedly admires. Among these is my relentlessness.

 Once I have my mind set upon a goal, I won’t relent until I gain it.

 *****

 It seems to me that there are more fellow-sociopaths in the world (yours as well as mine) than people who are truly relentless.

 People begin to do a thing, and then as soon as something is difficult, they stop. Or the task is longer than they expected, so they stop. Or they’re not exactly certain how to proceed, so they stop. My author included.

 I just… I just don’t understand. How can the relenting do anything? How is any path traveled if every barrier (or perhaps not every—just the third or fourteenth) submitted to?

 They can’t, and none are.

  *****

 Clearly, shouting the Nike motto has proven inadequate to change things.

In the hope of helping the strugglers out there, especially the writers among you, (*cough*Tirzah *cough*) I have a handful of possibly more helpful things to think when you find yourself relenting.

What would I do if I were an epic badass?

If I knew I could totally handle this, what would I do?

If I were a character who was just like me, except relentless, what would I do?

Basically, ask yourself, “What would Syawn do?”

Unless you’re against murder. To each their own conscience and all that.

*****

One comment

  1. WWSD, hmm? How is that not a bumper sticker?
    “It was probably going to be,” says Will Scarlet. “But wouldn’t you know, the bumper-sticker-maker’s relented?” He shakes his head. “#TragicIrony.”

Leave a Reply

