100-word wonders: Lies

Hey. Syawn here.

We've decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I'm the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who's talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might  otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Why “Lies?” Because it seemed an appropriate way to involve myself in your tradition of a “fool’s day” without stooping to the level of people posting idiotic untruths.

I wonder, the author wonders, don’t we all wonder about falsehoods and a world despicably riddled with them, for no more nor fewer than 100 words at a time.

*****

I have never taken to lies or liars. You may find this an odd quality in someone who is a criminal in most other ways, but I believe in truth between comrades. Certainly, I may lie to the von—our country’s answer to your world’s police—but not to my thieves, nor will they to me.

I punish lying more strenuously than I punish any other misdemeanor in my court, and my people know they can take me at my word. We may be thieves, but we’re honest about it; unlike the von, who’ll take from any purse and stand with the law behind them. There’s a reason the people love us better.

 *****

I don’t even… your first book title is freaking Ever the Actor. Your entire personality is a lie, your very emotions are commonly deliberately constructed. You practically invented yourself, and that invention is as changeable as your circumstances.

You’re a living omnitool—and everyone else is a tool to you. You are, as I say so dramatically elsewhere, a lie in the flesh. Do you think you can negate everything our readers have ever read about you simply by telling them now that it isn’t so?

And on top of it all, your section was a hundred and thirteen words.

*****

“Way to spoil an honest attempt to participate in your culture, kid.” Sy shakes his head. “Aren’t you meant to leave the fools to be fooled?”

One comment

  1. And even though I know so much better, he manages to fool me every day of the year. How’s the expression go? “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me continuously… y’know what? Shame on you anyway, you awful person!”

Leave a Reply

