100 Word Wonders: Muse

Hey. Syawn here.

We've decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I'm the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who's talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might  otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Why “Muse?” Because I was paid off.

Now follows our wonderings upon muses and musehood, first mine, then my author’s, then a shameless advert, each in no more nor less than 100 words.

*****

Last time Chance, and now Muse—shall we be hitting on all of Hashan’s religions? That would be the Maker’s Mites, who believe in the creator they call Maker, Muse, and Mystery, a whole being with a complex inter-giving relationship with himself.

 From what I’ve gathered, it sounds like what you’d expect. The Maker created, the Muse inspired, and the Mystery’s the keystone of some cosmic plan that even the Maker’s Mites don’t pretend to understand. I don’t think Tirzah will try to pretend this stems from anything but her own belief in a Triune Godhead; isn’t that right, author?

*****

Quite right, too. But I already have one blog where I go on about my beloved God, if you care for more on that. Now to talk about lowercase-m muses. I would apply that name to whatever it is inside a person that brings them ideas and forces their hand to the art.

 In my case, Syawn himself has stepped up the plate, evolving from mere character to character-muse, as you can probably gather from the fact that he’s taken over my very blog. For all I may gripe about it, I’m really very grateful for that internal, insistent shove.

 *****

 Everyone seems to have different ideas of what muses are, what they do, should do, and whether they’re reliable. All I know is my own muse showed up after I put a good couple hundred thousand words in.

 Muses seem attracted to minds and pens already in motion, as evidenced in the (SURPRISE! PROMOTION TIME!) recently released Inspired.

 When Luc, the muse who saves his characters from his dying author’s mind, goes looking for a head in which to nest, he seeks one already churning with stories—and with it, forges a tale neither author nor muse had dreamed of.

*****

We have a scheduled spot on Danielle E. Shipley’s Inspired blog tour in ten day’s time, but the masterwork of musery was released yesterday, and we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to plaster this book’s lovely face all over the place already. You can look forward to an interview with the muse himself on the 28th. In the meanwhile, just look that awesome cover. And then click the link, and read the blurb, and go buy the book. You know how cool it sounds? It’s really actually that cool.

2 comments

  1. From Luc and me to Syawn and Tirzah, thanks so much for the shout-out! I eagerly await your tour stop; as the scribe of Luc’s As to Sy’s Qs, I know it’ll be a great interview. (:

    1. You’re verra welcome, from both of us! I look forward to my tour time as well, and with one of your best-ever works at last out in the limelight, how could I but share it? ^o^

Leave a Reply

