100 Word Wonders: Nemesis

Hey. Syawn here.

We've decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I'm the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who's talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might  otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Why ‘nemesis’? Because I was watching other main characters play with their nemeses, noticed that I don’t have one, and I was feeling cheated. My author has some justifying to do.

And so without further ado, I, my author, and my little fellow MC wonder about nemeses.

*****

Don’t get me wrong; I have enemies.

People who crop up between myself and what I want, people who find me standing between themselves and what they want. In the chronicles Tirzah has written so far, that list includes a king, rival thief lords, bandits, pirates, guards, bureaucrats, ice dragons, mages, special forces, and special forces mages.

But for all that, no arch enemies, no standing great foes. No Sauron or Sherriff of Nottingham or Moriarty or Master or Loki or Lucifer or anyone.

I feel I miss out on a lot of excellent potential banter.

Get on it, Author.

 *****

In truth, Sy, it’s your fault. If you were an upstanding hero, you would attract arch enemies. But you’re only after control, and you go out of your way to turn enemies into assets, liabilities into friends.

You’re so quick to take notice of anyone who doesn’t like you and either shut them down or turn them around, there hasn’t been opportunity for a nemesis to crop up at all.

Even if you were proud—but no, you’ll even go so far as to humble yourself rather than make a foe.

You want a nemesis? You go make your own.

 *****

Mysst shakes her head. “I don’t know. There were too many of them to know every face. And I was too far to know even a single face,” she says bitterly.

“I suppose I should look to the man who gave the order. Without your king, without Vingorn, no one would have invaded our territories, and everyone would still be alive. He doesn’t even know he’s made an enemy of me, but some day, he will, and he’ll regret it.”

Her small jaw juts out. “Yes, I know my enemy. And one day, Yaa’s king will know me as his.”

*****

And that there, Tirzah would have me know, is one good way to get an arch nemesis: get into the revenge business. Avenging dead parents is a good bet; Six-fingered man and Voldemort and all that.
Just set out to find the people who killed my mummy and daddy when I was little. The truth of it is, I hardly remember my parents, let alone the people who slew them when I was six, and the killers are probably long dead by now anyway, so in all, that’s a rather pointless point to make, author.

3 comments

  1. “I could make an arch nemesis and hand him off to you, if you like,” Will Scarlet offers. “Just say the word. I can be almost as hatable as I am lovable, if I really put my clever mind to it.”

    1. “Yeah, yeah, but what would people say of medieval sheriffs and lords cropping up hating on all the handsome carrot-curled fellows on my planet? It would be a bit deus-ex, don’t you think?”

Leave a Reply

