100-Word Wonders: Sherlock

Hey. Syawn here.

We've decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I'm the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who's talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might  otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own blog posts.

I’ve started a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Why Sherlock Holmes? Because she was just watching, and sometimes I watch over her shoulder. What? Just because I’m from a swords-and-sorcery story universe with no telly means I don’t get to watch BBC? Screw that. Sherlock is fun.

Now, without further ado, this week’s 100 word wonders–I, my author, and myself again, as we wonder over history’s most iconic fictional detective.

*****
I’m not a psychopath, I’m a high functioning sociopath. Do your research.

Oh, Sherlock. Aren’t we all? Oh, apparently not. That’s why we’ve got to get so good at acting, isn’t it? Not that you try very hard. I respect your intelligence, man, but there’s something to be said for playing to the crowd; something you apparently only stoop to at Christmas, with your violin.

I like you. You’re me, if I were lazy and less ambitious and a sleuthing savant. I’ll freely admit that I pine for your powers of deduction.

Also, speaking as a criminal mastermind—Sheriarty ftw.

*****

Ah, Sherlock and John. Don’t know who I love more. It’s like Frodo and Sam. If Frodo were a gratingly unkind but hilarious savant with photographic memory and no mentionable people skills. So I guess what I actually mean is, John reminds me of Sam.

Which only makes sense, actually, because Martin Freeman is a Hobbit. That never fails to amuse me:

John Baggins
221 B Bag End, Baker’s Street,
The Shire, London.
Looks like we’ve got a client on party business.

And this is where it comes to my attention that Sy is better at these than I am.

*****

You only just noticed? That’s why I’m going again—to save this poor post.

To expand on my ship, in the spirit of the upcoming holiday…

Sherlolly is cute, but—face it. Too cute. Just look at the ship title. Sherlock isn’t that cute.

John? Honestly too straight. Not that anyone will believe the poor man.

Sheriarty is where the chemistry is. They stimulate one another’s minds, when little else does.

But for all that? He said it best at the outset:  married to his work.

Happy V-day, Sherlock. Have a case of homicide on me.

XOXO,

 Your Criminal Admirer

Oh, what’s this? Tirzah would like me to clarify that views expressed by the character are not necessarily a reflection of the author’s. What’s the matter, girl? You a Sherlolly sucker? No? Ah, she thinks it best if the virgin ship never left harbor. Something about how Sherlock would suck at a romantic relationship. She can be so narrow-minded.

2 comments

  1. Sherlock and John Baggins forever! ^o^
    …Platonically. In some respects, Sherlock is a lousy enough best friend; I don’t see how going any farther would improve upon the relationship. Let’s just leave it at one of the top bromances Britain ever produced and call it a grand ol’ day. X)

Leave a Reply

