100-Word Wonders: Fame

We’ve decided a picture of me should be posted at the top of the post whenever I’m the one writing it, apparently to make sure everyone understands who’s talking. Fair enough, as some newcomers might otherwise assume that the so-called Inkcaster was capable of writing her own bloody blog posts.

Hello, all. Syawn here.

I’ve decided to start a weekly challenge for my author. It’s a good way to keep her on track. This challenge will be to write exactly 100 words on whatever subject I’m wondering about at the time, every Tuesday.

Why Tuesday? she asks. Because today is Tuesday, and I’ll not let her put it off for one more day.

Why whatever subject you’re wondering about? What about subjects I’m wondering about? the author asks, affronted. Because if I let her pick, she would be all day dithering between one musing and another.

Why 100 words precisely? she asks. Because I said so.

Now, without further ado, in this week’s three 100-word wonders, I, my author, and a fellow character in my novel wonder about fame.

*****

Wherefore fame? Sy wondered. Making a name, he understood, but why the general desire to be generally known? The more who knew you, the more dangerous the game became. The further your fame spread, the less control you had over what your name meant.
If fame became incidental of a position of power, so be it. He would manage. But he wished not to be known of by many as possible, but to have control over them. If he could have that without any word spread but a whisper of a fox in the night, so much to the good.

*****

Did she really want fame?  Tirzah wondered. Or did she simply want her writings to be read by many? Both—ish. She desired her writing to be linked  to her name, she desired her writing to be beloved of many. But she asked not that her name be beloved of many.
If she had to pick one? Oh, an easy choice: she would rather her works spread anonymously far than that they kept her title safely attached, but never made a splash.
Whichever way fate fell, one thing was sure: one in a hundred would ever get her name right.

*****

“How has fame suited me?” Rowtan pondered. “Not so badly. Mostly because I avoid thinking about it. When I talk at the University—that’s not fame. I just talk about magic, and ignore the size of the crowd. When I stand before the Union Council, it’s rarely more than three hundred pairs of eyes on me, and I try not to remember how powerful those people are. Outside of the Mage’s Guild, walking the streets, no one knows me unless they check my armband, and then I’m just ‘some big shot mage.’ They don’t care. That’s what keeps me sane.”

2 comments

  1. “Good on you, Sy!” Will Scarlet approves. “Nothing like a weekly challenge to keep our authors sharp. ^_^ I also approve of fame — and kind of crave it, actually. Lucky for me I’m a legend.”

    And I’m happy to spread the Scarlet fame farther. I consider my characters and their stories of greater importance than the name I stamp on the books/blogs/what have you. I mean, I’ll happily take what credit I’m due, but it’s not the main motivator. …Which is more than could be said if Will were /my/ author. XP

    1. “Thank you, Will,” Sy says with a nod. “Thought you might be into the idea, what with your Saturday skits.”

      Right? I mean, obviously, I’m not too attached to having my name attached–it already kind of isn’t. Just look at the caption of the picture above. -_- The story takes precedence!

      “If it really did,” Sy grumbles, “I would never have had to take over like that.”

Leave a Reply

